First blog kitchen trial – Bob’s Red Mill Golden Cornbread

Ok. So to recap what I explained in my Kitchen Resolutions post, I have a tiny kitchen, I lack several basic kitchen tools, and I’m a messy cook. Here’s the proof of what I’m workin’ with.


(Please excuse the dirty dishes in the sink.)


Yes, that is all the counter space I have.

And due to the lack of cabinet space…

…we have this super attractive storage rack for non-perishables, appliances, and other stuff. I’m actually sightly embarrassed posting this because it’s such an eyesore! But, you’ve gotta be resourceful when living in tiny urban spaces.

So that’s my kitchen, now on to the recipe! Even though it’s in the high 80s in LA still, I was craving a warm, autumn-y baked bread. So I tried out Bob’s Red Mill’s Golden Cornbread recipe. I love any recipe where it doesn’t require me to make an extra trip to the store – I already had these few, simple ingredients on hand.



To further illustrate my messy cook tendencies, I promptly spilled cornmeal all over the counter and floor. Typical. Anyway, the recipe is super simple. Of course, because of my lack of a sifter and an electric beater, I “sifted” the dry ingredients by mixing them with a fork…

…and nuked the butter in the microwave so I could easily incorporate it by hand into the batter.

I just crossed my fingers that my modifications didn’t affect the texture! (Notice the little dribble of batter that didn’t make it into the pan – another example of my messy tendencies!)

It looked pretty good coming out of the oven…

…and then it crumbled into pieces as soon as I cut into it. This was my second attempt at cutting a piece. (Sorry again for the blurry pics – I get next to no natural light in my kitchen and I’m still struggling with flash settings!)

To be honest, I wasn’t thrilled with this recipe. I think I just like my cornbread more on the sweeter side. I added some butter and a drizzle of honey to finish off my piece, and it was pretty good! I’m wondering if the recipe just yielded a crumblier bread, or if it had to do with my lack of sifting and electric beating??

So kitchen trial #1 for this blog was a semi-success – it’s definitely an edible bread, and between the boyfriend and myself, I’m sure we’ll finish it off. Hopefully this weekend’s recipe will be more of a winner!

3 Comments

Filed under About Me, Food

3 responses to “First blog kitchen trial – Bob’s Red Mill Golden Cornbread

  1. If you have a Trader Joe’s by you, you should try their cornbread mix. It makes AMAZING cornbread. There are some things that I like to make myself, but this mix is too good to pass up!

  2. Pingback: Kitchen organization | She writes, bites, and window shops

Leave a Reply

