The perfect hearty breakfast

Today was one of those days where I just woke up starving! So I went with one of my favorite satisfying breakfasts – oats! Now don’t stop reading because you think oats are boring. Just take a look at Kath’s Tribute to Oatmeal page and I promise you will change your mind.

I use old-fashioned rolled oats.

Let 1/2 cup of water and 1/2 cup of unsweetened almond milk come to a boil, add in 1/2 cup of oats, reduce to a simmer, and let it cook for 5 minutes. That’s it!

I also typically mix in some protein powder about 2-3 minutes into the cooking time, so there’s still some liquid to absorb it. I know it’s best to get protein from whole food sources, but since I don’t eat a ton of meat I mix this stuff into oats, smoothies, and some baking projects.

Just like with yogurt, the mix-in options for oats are endless. Today I rolled with strawberries, 1/2 a banana, and some shredded coconut.

Topped with piping hot oats, it was refreshing, sweet, and delicious! This will hold me over for several hours too – gotta love high fiber content!

Do you eat oats often? What are your favorite mix-ins? 

8 Comments

Filed under Food

8 responses to “The perfect hearty breakfast

  1. Marnie

    Ooooo I like the shredded coconut idea. Very creative! I have never bought just shredded coconut ever. Now I will!

    • Tee

      Oh I add coconut to so many things. Just make sure you don’t buy unsweetened – it doesn’t taste like coconut at all! And keep it in the freezer after you open it – it will stay nice and fresh 🙂

  2. I like to put whey protein powder in my oats, too, when I’m not in the mood for meat or eggs. It works best for me to disolve it in a little bit of hot water first. Have you tried cooking your oats in chai tea instead of plain water or milk? It’s quite tasty. I love oats!!!

    • Tee

      oh my gosh that sounds so delicious! I always have some chai tea concentrate in my fridge so I will definitely be trying that. Thanks for the tip!

  3. lida

    no protein powder (bleh) — I love brown sugar, chopped walnuts and blueberries. not so dietetic but yummy

    • Tee

      mmm, brown sugar is definitely my sweetener of choice for oatmeal when I don’t use coconut. And you can’t taste the protein powder at all! I only use a 1/2 scoop or so.

  4. Pingback: Leftovers, green smoothies, and weddings – oh my! | She writes, bites, and window shops

  5. Pingback: A pumpkiny kind of morning | She writes, bites, and window shops

Leave a Reply

