Delicious twists on Thanksgiving favorites

Halloween is over, so that means it’s time to start thinking about the holidays! Since we’re flying back to Massachusetts for Christmas, we’re spending Thanksgiving with my cousin down in Orange County, and I’m already thinking about what I want to make. Check out these amazing ideas for traditional Thanksgiving dishes with a unique twist. I’ll let you know what I decide to try out! (All photos/recipes from Closet Cooking.)

Side Dishes

Blue Cheese Mashed Potatoes topped with Caramelized Onions and Mushrooms

Onion Gratin

Maple Dijon Roasted Brussel Sprouts

Goat Cheese Mashed Potatoes with Coffee Gravy

Roasted Butternut Squash with Caramelized Onions, Gorgonzola, and Crispy Fried Sage

I must say, I’m partial to anything with goat cheese in it so those potatoes are my pick!

Main Course

Parmesan and Sage Roasted Turkey Breast

Maple and Chipotle Roasted Turkey Breast

Ham Crusted with Mustard and Gingersnap Crumbs

Roasted Lamb in Coffee Sauce

I won’t have to worry about making the main dish, but I think the maple and chipotle turkey and the ham sound the best!

Desserts 

Vanilla Apple Crisp with Caramel Sauce

Maple Pecan Pie

Dulce de Leche Apple Pie

Sweet Potato Pecan Pie

Pear and Cranberry Crumble 

I’m leaning towards the crumble – they are so easy and it’s hard to mess them up!

Have you started thinking about Thanksgiving dishes yet? Do you usually go traditional, or does your family switch things up?

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

